Table of Contents


One of the most recognisable and successful teams in the National Basketball Association is the Chicago Bulls (NBA). They have a long history dating back to 1966, one that has seen both highs and lows. The Bulls have won six NBA titles, and the Michael Jordan-led Bulls dynasty in the 1990s is regarded as one of the greatest in sports history. The history, notable players, coaches, and accomplishments of the Chicago Bulls will all be covered in this page.




In 1966, the Chicago Bulls and the Seattle SuperSonics were both established as expansion teams. Initially, a group of investors headed by Dick Klein owned the squad. The Bulls had a difficult first season, winning just 33 of their 81 games. The rise of Jerry Sloan, who would later be inducted into the Hall of Fame, however, gave them hope. Sloan set the tone for the Bulls’ future success with his tough defense and energetic play.

The Bulls made multiple playoff appearances in the 1970s, but they were never able to go past the first round. However the squad did have several outstanding players at this time, including Artis Gilmore, Norm Van Lier, and Bob Love. When the Bulls acquired Michael Jordan, one of the all-time great players, their fortunes shifted in the 1980s.


The Chicago Bulls selected Michael Jordan with the third overall pick in the 1984 NBA Draft. Jordan soon rose to prominence as the NBA’s most captivating player and the face of the team. Jordan guided the Bulls to their first NBA title in 1991 with his exceptional athleticism, scoring prowess, and relentless defence.

Throughout the 1990s, Jordan kept the league in check while leading the Bulls to five more titles. The team’s success during this time was made possible by Scottie Pippen, Horace Grant, and Dennis Rodman in addition to Jordan’s outstanding performance on an individual level. Phil Jackson, another outstanding coach for the Bulls, contributed to the development of a winning culture inside the group.

As Jordan announced his second retirement from basketball in 1998, the Bulls’ dynasty came to an end. Players like Derrick Rose and Joakim Noah led the squad during the succeeding years, which were characterised by hardships and rebuilding efforts. The Bulls, though, have yet to equal the success of the Jordan era.


The Chicago Bulls have had a lot of talented players over the years. The franchise has boasted a number of other Hall of Famers in addition to Michael Jordan, including Scottie Pippen and Dennis Rodman. Some noteworthy Bulls players over the years include:

Bob Love:-

Three-time All-Star Bob Love was a member of the Bulls from 1968 to 1976. He had a reputation for being a prolific scorer and led the squad in scoring for seven seasons.

Norm Van Lier:-

Point guard Norm Van Lier, who represented the Bulls from 1971 to 1978. He was renowned for his resolute defense and three times made the All-Defensive First Team.

Artis Gilmore:-

From 1976 to 1982, Artis Gilmore, a center, was a member of the Bulls. During his time with the team, he was a six-time All-Star and one of the finest rebounders in the league.

Derrick Rose:-

Point guard Derrick Rose, who represented the Bulls from 2008 until 2016. In 2011, he became the NBA’s youngest MVP and took the Bulls to the Eastern Conference Finals.

Jimmy Butler:-

 From 2011 to 2017, he was a shooting guard with the Bulls. He was selected to the All-Defensive First Team three times and was an All-Star four times.


Over their history, the Chicago Bulls have had a number of productive coaches, notably Phil Jackson and Tom Thibodeau. With 11 NBA titles under his belt, Phil Jackson is recognised as one of the best coaches in NBA history (6 with the Bulls and 5 with the Los Angeles Lakers). He was the Bulls’ coach throughout their 1990s heyday and is credited with instilling a winning culture among the players.

From 2010 through 2015, Tom Thibodeau served as the Bulls’ head coach, and during his first four seasons in that position, the team made the playoffs each year. He is renowned for his defensive-oriented coaching approach and was named the NBA Coach of the Year in 2011.

In addition to Jordan’s early coaches Doug Collins and Phil Johnson, the Bulls also had their first playoff participation in 1975 under the leadership of Phil Johnson.


Over the course of their history, the Chicago Bulls have accomplished a number of things, including:

NBA titles six times (1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998)

six conference titles

9 divisional victories

six NBA MVP honours (5 for Michael Jordan and 1 for Derrick Rose)

NBA Finals MVP honours twice (both for Michael Jordan)

5 awards for NBA Coach of the Year (4 for Phil Jackson and 1 for Tom Thibodeau)

The Michael Jordan-led Bulls dynasty of the 1990s is regarded as one of the greatest in sports history. The club posted a 72-10 record in the 1995–1996 season, which is still the best regular season record in NBA history, and won six titles in eight years.


The Chicago Bulls have a storied past that is full with legendary players, coaches, and accomplishments. The Bulls have had numerous memorable events throughout their history, from Jerry Sloan’s rise to prominence in the 1960s through the Michael Jordan-led dynasty of the 1990s. The Bulls are still a cherished and legendary NBA club, despite the team’s recent troubles.